The Third East-Asian School on Logic, Language and Computation (EASLLC 2014) will take place at Tsinghua University, China on July 2-8, 2014. The event will start with an international workshop “Current Trends in Logic” on July 2, continue with the school on July 3-8. The program of the School will consist of six courses on logic in its interdisciplinary width. The courses cover logic, philosophy, computer science, and linguistics, with an emphasis on interaction between fields. There will be two plenary evening talks for a wider audience.

In addition, there will be student sessions in the late afternoon/early evening. The student session is a forum for students at all levels (Bachelor, Master or PhD) to present original research to the audience. We plan a “mentoring” program in which selected students will be assigned to one of the lecturers for informal interaction and research/career discussions.

We invite submissions of abstracts of original, unpublished papers from students in the area of logic, language and computation. Submissions will be reviewed by several experts in the field. Authors of accepted papers will be invited to present in the student session, and a selected number of them will be provided with free reasonable accommodation.

Instruction for Authors:

Students are invited to submit an abstract of maximum 5 pages on any topic in logic, language and computation. The abstract should be written in properly readable English, and must be in PDF format that is to be submitted using our EasyChair website.

Important Dates:

April 1, 2014 - deadline for short abstracts of papers (at most 5 pages)

April 20, 2014 - notification date of acceptance/rejection of the papers


6 different courses will be offered, covering logic, philosophy, computer science, and linguistics, with an emphasis on the interaction between those fields. Course title, reading materials, and the final schedule will come soon.

  • Logic and Quantum Information: Samson Abramsky (Oxford University),
  • Logic and Computation: Phokion Kolaitis (UC Santa Cruz)
  • Logic and Language: Larry Moss (Indiana University)
  • Formal Philosophy: Wesley Holliday (UC Berkeley)
  • Philosophical Logic: Alexandru Baltag and Sonja Smets (The University of Amsterdam)
  • Mathematical Logic: Jouko Väänänen (The University of Helsinki and University of Amsterdam)

Program Committee

Chairs: Samson Abramsky (Oxford University), Andrew Yao (Tsinghua University)


  • Johan van Benthem (University of Amsterdam)
  • Yijia Chen (Shanghai Jiaotong University)
  • Xinyu Feng (University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei)
  • Xiangdong He (South west University, Chongqing)
  • Huaxin Huang (Zhejiang University, Hangzhou)
  • Yi Jiang (Beijing Normal University)
  • Shier Ju (Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou)
  • Jeremy Seligman (Auckland University)
  • Xiaoming Ren (Nankai University, Tianjin)
  • Kaile Su (Griffith University)
  • Cong Tian (Xidian University, Xi’an)
  • Lu Wang (Tsinghua University, Beijing)
  • Wujin Yang (Renmin University, Beijing)
  • Naijun Zhan (The Chinese Academy of Science, Beijing)
  • Jianjun Zhang (Nanjing University, Nanjing)
  • Beihai Zhou (Peking University, Beijing)
  • Chongli Zou (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Beijing)

Organizing Committee

  • Fenrong Liu (Chair, Tsinghua University)
  • Jiahong Guo (Beijing Normal University)
  • Fengkui Ju (Beijing Normal University)
  • Pingzhong Tang (Tsinghua University)
  • Yanjing Wang (Peking University)

Student Program Organizers

Chairs: Junhua Yu (The Graduate Center, CUNY), Chanjuan Liu (Peking University)

Organizing Institutions

  • Tsinghua University
  • Beijing Normal University
  • Association for Logicians in Beijing
  • The University of Amsterdam

School website is being constructed, will be available soon.

For any questions, please contact